CCW COURSE UPDATE!
As many of you may know, California Senate Bill 2, of 2023/24, became effective on January 1st, 2024. Emergency Regulations made possible by this bill, were published, and became effective on December 15th, 2023. Those regulations changed the requirements for Instructors of CCW Qualification classes and created a new process at the California Department of Justice. Instructors meeting the new minimum requirements of certifications must now obtain a California CCW Instructor Certification.
We have met the new requirements and are waiting for the acceptance and then the issuance of that California CCW Instructor Certification. The State DOJ has indicated they are working on the applications and anticipate a 4-6 week time frame for us to receive that certificate.
We anticipate classes resuming the first or second week of February. Please check back with us, as we will update the CCW page of this website with the new schedule and instructions.
The new Course Requirements include new time and curriculum updates! Initial Applications now require 16 hours of training, Renewal Applications now require 8 hours of training.
Foley Firearms Training thanks Sheriff Chad Bianco, the CCW Unit, and the Sheriff’s Ben Clark Training Center Staff for their perseverance in doing whatever it takes to continue their support of you, the citizen, in exercising your right to self-defense.
The State of California recently passed Senate Bill 2, which drastically changes the Carry Concealed Weapon laws in the state, effective on January 1, 2024.
Among those changes, are new training requirements, as well as course curriculum requirements. Initial applicants will now be required to attend a Qualification Course that shall be no less than 16 hours in length. Renewal applicants will be required to attend a Qualification Course no less than 8 hours in length. You may be familiar with the fact that these new requirements are exactly double the current requirements.
We have developed an ALPHA COURSE and a BRAVO COURSE. Both are distinct in material covered, and each are 8 hours in length.
Initial applicants (16 Hour Requirement) must book an ALPHA COURSE and a BRAVO COURSE, to meet that requirement.
Renewal applicants (8 Hour Requirement) must only take the BRAVO COURSE.
These courses will be booked separately, but Initial Applicants MUST take the ALPHA COURSE before the BRAVO COURSE.
We will offer the courses on a weekend so you may take the ALPHA COURSE on Saturday, and the BRAVO COURSE the next day, Sunday. If that does not work for you, you may select the BRAVO COURSE on any later date offered.
To clarify why we must offer 2 distinct courses, let us explain:
Both Initial and Renewal applicants must take the same classroom portion of the Course. Renewal applicants will only need to re-qualify with their weapons, and take the classroom portion (BRAVO COURSE), but don’t require the full first time work up and training we teach the Initial Applicants (ALPHA COURSE). Initial Applicants will spend their first day training with their weapons, then, will take the BRAVO COURSE a second day which will include the actual weapons qualification.
ALPHA COURSE COST = $175
BRAVO COURSE COST = $175
Dates for booking both courses will be posted soon.
Participation in the Concealed Carry Weapons Course requires a higher degree of confidence and capability in manipulating your weapon. Therefore, you should have intermediate experience with your firearms. If you do not possess those skills currently, you should book a training session with us, prior to the Qualification Course. We can get you to the level of competence necessary to keep you proficient and safe. Contact us for a discounted price, when you book a training session in conjunction with your Qualification Course.
Riverside County Sheriff & MyCCW.us Applicants
Start time for Initial 8 Hour Class is 8:00AM (Check in at 7:30am)
Renewals will join the class at 10:30AM
(You will join the initial class already in progress)
Details for class and directions will be provided once you are enrolled.
Required Equipment for CCW Training / Qualification:
All Firearms You Intend to Add to Your Permit
Kydex OWB Holster (Avoid Nylon Fabric) and Sturdy Belt, plus Magazine Carrier(s)
Minimum of 2 Magazines, Preferably 3 Magazines
150 Rounds of Ammunition for Your Primary Training Weapon
30 Rounds of Ammunition for each Additional Weapon
Eye and Ear Protection (Headcover Recommended)
Lunch/Snacks/Water for Breaks and Classroom Session